The Tracy Police Department intends to strictly adhere to the rules outlined by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and California Penal Code Sections 26150 through 26225. Those rules are carefully outlined in the application packet.
All new and renewing applicants must submit a California DOJ BOF 4012 – Standard Initial and Renewal Application for License to Carry A Concealed Weapon form. You can find this form on this page under “CCW Forms.”
Please thoroughly read and complete the application. Illegible, incomplete, willful omissions or untruthfulness will cause your application to be rejected.
Per California Penal Code Section 26150, these are the application requirements for CCW Licenses:
You must be a resident of the City of Tracy and show proof of such; i.e. utility bill, subscriptions, etc. These must be no older than 30 days. Post Office Box addresses are not residences and will not be accepted. A valid California Identification Card or Drivers License must also be presented. Proof of ownership of any weapon to be licensed must be provided. All applicants must be at least 21 years of age or older.
2. Good Moral Character
You must be of “Good Moral Character”; No disqualifying law violations or convictions, no dishonorable discharge from military. You must submit three letters of character reference from persons other than family members.
3. Good Cause
“Good Cause” is defined in the Attorney General Opinion 77/30 I.L. 1977 as “The issuing authority must determine whether the threat to the applicant (or other casual situation) is as real as the applicant asserts (e.g., is there a clear and present danger to the applicant, his spouse, his family or his employees).
Finally if the danger is manifest, the authority should determine whether that danger cannot be significantly alleviated by alternative means of security and whether the danger in fact can be lawfully mitigated by the applicant’s obtaining a concealed weapon license.” You must submit an attached letter outlining your “Good Cause” justification for your need to be issued a CCW.
Renewal applicants must update the justification (Good Cause) statement to reflect your current need to have a CCW license.
You must complete required training as stipulated in the Penal Code §§26165 and the course must be acceptable to the Tracy Police Department. Additionally, the training required must be supported by an approved certificate of completion. New applicants must complete a course which meets the requirements outlined in Penal Code §§26165(b). Renewal applicants must complete a course which meets the requirements of Penal Code §§26165(c).
A list of acceptable course providers is available from the Tracy Police Department, upon request.
All new applicants are required to submit their fingerprints, via “Live Scan”, to the Department of Justice for official clearance. For more information on “Live Scan” fingerprinting, Click here.
6. Notification of Confidentiality
7. Psychological Evaluation
Applicant’s must undergo a psychological evaluation as part of the application process. This requirement is in place to ensure that those who are granted permits are mentally fit and stable enough to handle the responsibility of carrying a weapon in public.
Per California Penal Code Section 26190, these are the fees associated with CCW Licenses and are subject to change.
(Checks/Money Orders made payable to the City of Tracy)
($20 due at submission of application; $80 due upon issuance of CCW License)
(Checks/Money Orders made payable to DOJ)
These forms will assist you in applying for a CCW License.
|Tracy PD CCW Application Process||CCW||ccw|
|Tracy PD CCW Information Brochure||CCW||ccw|
|California DOJ 4012 CCW Application||CCW||ccw|
Application Process and Instructions
You can follow the steps below to apply for a CCW License from the Tracy Police Department.
Step 1 - Download and Complete The Application
Download and complete the California DOJ’s 4012 Standard Initial and Renewal Application for License to Carry A Concealed Weapon. This form can be found above this section under “CCW Forms.”
Make sure to provide a detailed explanation under the “Good Cause” section of the application.
You are required to be 21 years of age to apply for a CCW License.
Step 2 - Schedule an Appointment for Review and Submission
Please call (209) 831-6559 to schedule an appointment with the Tracy Police Department’s Office of Professional Standards, where a department member will review your application. If the application is complete and there are no changes needed, your application will be submitted to the Chief of Police for review.
Step 3 - Review by The Chief of Police
The Chief of Police will review your application and a determination will be made if there is “Good Cause” for the issuance of a CCW. In the event it is determined that there is a lack of “Good Cause,” you will be notified by mail as to the decision, and no further processing of your application will occur.
If it is determined there is “Good Cause” for the issuance of a CCW License, you will be notified by mail. You then need to complete the remaining application steps.
Step 4 - LiveScan Fingerprinting Required
You will be required to have your fingerprints taken for background clearance through the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Department of Justice.
Please call (209) 831-6550 to schedule an appointment for your fingerprints to be scanned.
You will need to pay $95.00 to the Department of Justice, through a check or money order made payable to “DOJ.”
Step 5 - Pay Applicable Fees
You will be required to pay 20% of the $100 license fee, which is $20.00. Please make checks payable to The City of Tracy and send them to:
The City of Tracy
333 Civic Center Plaza
Tracy, CA 95376
Step 6 - Submit Additional Documents
You will be required to submit the following documents to the Tracy Police Department’s Office of Professional Standards:
- Evidence of residency within the city of Tracy.
- Three letters of reference from non-family members.
- Provide proof of registration and ownership of the CCW handgun(s).
- Provide a California Driver’s License or California Identification Card.
- Evidence of training for CCW and Handgund Safety from a certified training facility per California Penal Code Section 26165.
Step 7 - Final Fees and CCW License Issuance
Once all documents have been reviewed and approved, and there are no issues with the background check, which would prohibit you from being granted a CCW License, you will be required to pay the remaining $80.00 licensing fee. This can be a check or money order made payable to The City of Tracy.
You will be issued your CCW License, valid for two years. You will be required to renew the license should you wish to maintain a valid CCW License.